An immersion in the 12th and 13th century CE in Annweiler
Scharfenberg tower (TipFox, CC BY-SA 4.0 Wikimedia Commons)
Dating back to the 12th century CE, the complex was originally a prison and later took its name from the family that owned the complex, noble servants of the Holy Roman Empire, under the Hohenstaufen King Konrad III, who died in 1152 CE. It was named Scharfenberg after its later owners, a ministerial family. At the beginning of the 13th century CE, it was the ancestral seat of the most important representative of this family, the Bishop of Speyer and Chancellor of the Empire, Konrad III von Scharfenberg.
According to tradition, the popular name “Münz” is often referred to as the right to mint coins, which was granted to Annweiler in 1219 CE together with the town charter. With this justification, it is assumed that the town minted its coins at the castle. However, this would have been inconvenient and risky because of the distance and remoteness. The name can rather be derived from the Latin word “munitio”, which means fortress or bulwark. It is similar to many other buildings in the Palatinate that bear this name without being associated with a mint.
The castle has been in ruins since it was conquered and destroyed during the German Peasants’ War in 1525 CE.
Here we can admire an exciting site that can still impress with a mighty tower and beautiful views of the Palatinate Forest.
It is possible to climb up the fortress through a tunnel cut into the rock and have a glimpse towards the northwest of the other two hilltops.