An immersion in the 12th and 13th century CE in Annweiler
Anebos ruin (Steffen 962, CC0, Wikimedia Commons)
The path leading to the next reaching point is full of panoramic views of the beautiful surrounding forest. For those searching for adventure, it is suggested to venture onto the rock ridge and enjoy the breathtaking scenery. However, due to the dangerous nature of some sections, great care is highly recommended.
Continuing through forests, rock formations and ridge paths that provide unique scenery, we reach the Anebos ruin.
Due to its original construction, mainly in wood, only a few traces of its past are visible today. Unfortunately, very little is known about it.
The fortification structure is dated to the beginning of the 12th century CE based on the available building findings.
It is thought that the name belonged to the former owner of the castle, the Anebos family, high-ranking ministers in charge of the kingdom in the 13th century.
The Lords of Anebos were imperial ministers to whom the feudal rights to the castle had been transferred. However, their ruling period in the area can only be traced for a short time between the last decade of the 12th century to the middle of the 13th century.
One family member seems to have accompanied the Holy Roman Emperor, Henry VI, during the Italian campaign.
Notably, in 1194, a marshal, Eberhard von Anebos, appeared in the entourage of Emperor Heinrich VI during his campaign in Italy. His brother Heinrich was named as the holder of the marshal’s office in 1196. In 1234, 1250 and 1252, Eliza of Anebos’s stay is documented, described as the widow of a marshal. In the middle of the 13th century, all the Lords of Anebos seem to have perished, as there is no further evidence of this family.
Presumably, through succession, the feudal rights to the castle passed to the family of the Reichstruchsessen Philipp I von Falkenstein. His wife Isengard gave the palace to King Konrad IV in 1246. This indicates that she reverted to the crown due to the end of the family’s male line. The castle is mentioned for the last time in a document from 1266.
Excavations carried out from 2000 onwards indicate that the building was still inhabited until the 14th century and was then abandoned. There is no evidence of its destruction by fighting.
We now leave the summit to follow a path that slopes down the right-hand side of the hill, heading towards our final destination.